About Sambalpur Group

Preceding the Indo-Pak War of 1965, NCC Group HQ Sambalpur was raised on 15 Aug 65 by Lt Col AL Bhal of the Sikh Regt. The Gp HQ was located at Burla in the premises of University college of engineering with the aim to channelise the simmering energies of youth of Western Odisha through NCC trg and to offer them a unique opportunity to develop their personalities and to attract them to armed forces for the service of the mother land.

Following units and sub-units came under its Command

56 Odisha Rifle Bn NCC Sambalpur
57 Odisha Rifle Bn NCC Rourkela
58 Odisha Rifle Bn NCC Dhenkanal
1 Odisha Engr Regt NCC Burla
2 Odisha Engr Regt NCC Rourkela
3 Odisha Engr Regt NCC Keonjhar
4 Odisha Engr Regt NCC Jharsuguda
6 Odisha EME Unit NCC Rourkela
7 Odisha Engr Regt NCC Burla.
2 Odisha Engr Regt NCC Burla
3 Odisha Engr Regt NCC Sambalpur

The Gp re-organised in Jul 1967. Due to certain changes in the educational set up in the state necessitated by the raising of Sambalpur University at Burla. In Oct 1968, the Gp HQ was shifted to Sambalpur by Lt Col SK Jena and was located amidst the scenic greenery of Brooks Hill. The Gp HQ underwent another re-organisation in May 1977 due to formation of Sambalpur as a separate Revenue and Administrative Division and the orbat of the Group shaped as enumerated below :

5 (O) Bn NCC Sambalpur
9 (O) Bn NCC Rourkela
11 (O) Bn NCC Bolangir
3 (O) CTC NCC Burla
4 (O) Med Coy NCC Burla
4 (O) Naval Unit NCC Bhawanipatna
14(O) Bn NCC Keonjhar (New Raising)

The Group HQ was shifted to its present location at VSS Stadium on 1 Jun 99. The Group is presently being commanded by Col Amitabh Roy, SM

Sl.No. Rank & Name Appt Telephone Nos.
Office Fax Mobile
1. Col ASN Rao Gp Cdr 0663-2411125 2411125 7259002626
2. Col Gyanendra Pandey Adm Offr 2412776 - 9566154412
3. Col AP Singh Trg Offr 2412494 - 8368404175
4. Lt Col C C Nag CO, 5 (O) Bn NCC 2400560 2400560 8685009801
5. Lt Col Donald Peters CO, 9 (O) Bn NCC 0661-2642117 2642117 9858866400
6. Col Ranjan Chakraborty CO, 11 (O) Bn NCC 06652-250755   9621236601
7. Lt Col Himanshu Pandey OC, 3 (O) CTC NCC 0663-2542388 2542388 7087578302
8. OC, 4 (O) Med Coy NCC 0663-2430491 2430491  
9. Lt Cdr Ravi Jaddu CO, 4 (O) Naval Unit 06670-232184 232184 9493037878
10. Lt Col M Chandra Shekar Rao CO 14 (O) Bn NCC 06766-258120   9949766866